Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Hello Lovelies!

Guess what I got yesterday??? My April Birchbox! Yay! I always look forward to my little beauty box surprises that I get in the mail every month. If you are unfamiliar with Birchbox, read below:

“Each month, you’ll receive a selection of samples that we’ve tried (and retried) ourselves. We source our samples from both well-known brands and emerging gems. The women’s subscription includes everything from skincare to makeup, as well as fun non-beauty extras. The men’s subscription delivers top-tier grooming products in addition to lifestyle accessories ranging from hip socks to tech accessories. “

You can check out Birchbox here! It’s only $10 a month!

Anyway, this month wasn’t necessarily my favorite but I am excited to try some of the new things I got!

Image

First I’ll mention that my box may look a little empty because I already took something out and ATE it! haha. I’m a fatty I know! I just couldn’t wait. What is missing from my box is a KIND Healthy Grains Bar made with maple pumpkin seeds and sea salt. 

Maple Pumpkin Seeds with Sea Salt

Now I’m not going to lie…I’ve never really been a fan of anything pumpkin or anything you eat that is mushy and orange, so I was a little hesitant to try this bar. The thought of it being made from pumpkin kinda made me quiver. I decided to take a bite despite that fact, and was surprised by how yummy it actually was. The sweet yet saltiness of the bar made for a perfect match. The perfect kinda match like Wendy’s fries dipped in their chocolate frosty. You know what I’m sayin’????? 

Image

ImageImage

 

 

Gilchrist & Soames is a brand I have never even heard of and since I haven’t tried it yet, the only thing I can judge is the smell. If you like clean, earthy smells, you will love the way this stuff smells. It kinda reminds me of a fresh cut cucumber mixed with a light hint of a mans cologne. 

Image

The Color Club nail polish is soooo beautiful. It’s a great shimmery pastel green, which will be great for Easter this weekend. I thought the product would need several coats, but after trying it out, 2 coats will be plenty. And if you are better at painting nails than I am…which about 95% of women are, you may can get by with just one coat! The color of my sample is called “Breakfast at…”Image

 

The next item in my box is a product by Miss Jessie’s. Its called Transitioner’s Magic and it’s for chemically treated hair. It’s suppose to shape and smooth curls of all types. I have tried another product from this brand before and I didn’t really like it. I may have used it wrong but it made my hair feel super oily. :/ I’ll probably save this for a day I don’t have anything planned just in case!Image

 

The last Item in my box was a product by Sumita. I am completely new to this brand so I really have no idea what to expect. It’s a color contract eyeliner called Jamun, which is a deep purple. In the swatch below, you can see it really doesn’t even look purple. It looks more of a brown to me. And it kinda reminds me of a crayon. It’s a soft wax but the line isn’t completely solid. I’m not a big fan of this liner. Not the color, just the look of it. One positive thing about this liner is that it has really good staying power. I tried to rub the swatch off my hand it didn’t budge. I got it wet and rubbed it and it still didn’t really come off. This is a product that would have to be removed with some eye makeup remover!Image

This month, Birchbox included a card from a 52 card collection the Birchbox editors made up. It’s called 52 Bright Ideas for a Rainy Day. I received card #42 and it said “Unroll your yoga mat and cue up an at-home routine with one of Tara Stiles’s videos. Tarastiles.com/videos.” I’m actually excited to find out about this website. After just a little browsing, I realize how inspirational this lady is. I’m definitely going to dig into her stuff!

Image

Overall, this birchbox was just ok. It was definitely worth the $10 it cost for sure though. I look forward to the next box even though I’ve just opened one! It’s definitely a fun addiction I don’t plan on cancelling any time soon. 

What did you get in your box? 

Was it better than mine?

 

XOXO

Amy

